Welcome to Hellifax

A film festival dedicated to genre fanatics in Halifax and the Atlantic region. We bring the best in genre cinema: the macabre, the deranged, the fantastical, the weird, the terrifying, the outrageous, and the eerie. Entering our fourth year, Hellifax Horror Fest offers audiences and filmmakers alike the opportunity to connect and share their passion for all-things horror!

Submissions for Hellifax Horror Fest 2023 are NOW OPEN! We are accepting feature length, short film, and script entries for this year’s edition. Don’t run, don’t hide, and don’t pick up the phone…but DO submit your entry for consideration! Late Deadline: July 31st, 2023. Click the link below for more details!

Our History

In October 2020, the Hellifax Horror Film Festival screened 52 horror shorts over 3 days to hundreds of film fans. A screenplay competition resulted in a Top 10 list of the top new voices in horror screenwriting.  We shared the work of filmmakers from around the world – making Hellifax truly an international festival.

In October 2021, Hellifax was a three day event including in-person and online screenings, and expanded to include horror feature films in addition to genre shorts and a screenplay competition. The fest was jam-packed with the best in new horror entertainment.

One of Us! One of Us! Our Advisory Board Members

Bente Maalen

Bente Maalen is a film producer with the production company Blaane Film, and is a founder and Producer of Ramaskrik Horror Film Festival in Norway. She had her debut as a producer with two short films in the fall of 2019 and has several feature films and tv-series in the pipeline.

Cory Bowles

An actor, director, screenwriter, dancer and choreographer born in Montreal and grew up in Truro, Nova Scotia. He is an African-Nova Scotian, most known for his directorial feature debut, Black Cop (TIFF 2017) and his recurring role on Trailer Park Boys.

Josh Mac-Donald

Writer-director of the award-winning horror short GAME. Also the writer of the horror feature THE CORRIDOR (IFC Films), which won Josh the “Next Wave— Best Screenplay Award” at Austin, Texas’ influential FANTASTIC FEST.

Kjetil Omberg

Kjetil Omberg, CEO and part owner of the Norwegian production shingle 74 Entertainment, has been working in the local biz since 1994. He made the move into production after fifteen years with distribution, including five years as head of publicity at Sandrew Metronome Norway, which released Warner Bros. pics in the territory.

Donna Davies

Donna Davies is a writer, producer, director, and owner of Ruby Tree Films. Davies has made dozens of award-winning films that have screened at festivals internationally and aired on networks such as CBC, Bravo, The Movie Network, IFC, HBO, Netflix, Hulu, Starz, and EPIX.

Todd Brown

An experienced festival programmer and founder of ScreenAnarchy.com, Todd joined XYZ Films in 2009 as Head of Int. Acquisitions. He's served as producer or EP on a wide range of Cannes, Toronto and Sundance titles such as THE RAID, SPRING, BUSHWICK, XX and many more.

Previous Festival Highlights

Follow Us...If You Dare